top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCalm Down Magazine

"april showers all year round," Poetry by Caiti McGowan

on an autumn afternoon

legs folded up into the lounge chair

holding a cup of black tea

i feel comfort, safety.


on a tuesday morning

walking into the double doors of the frigid high school building

the rain will slap onto my cheeks

it will ruin my mascara

i will mirror the imagine of myself after i have cried,

and i will feel worry

worried that someone might see me damp with my own tears.


on a walk back to the car

an unexpected drizzle will form

it will hit my glasses

just like it will hit the the car windows

except that I do not have windshield wipers

to clear away the raindrops

my vision will be blurred

i will feel confusion.


on a beach vacation

an hour after experiencing the warmth of the sun’s rays,

we will walk down town in the pouring rain together

with each step we become more drenched

the wind picks up,

the sand sticking to every inch of us

i will smile

and i will feel happiness.


rain showers, like in life, are always there,

each experience with them differing.


~c.a.m.


Poetry by Caiti McGowan, 21.

Oregon, USA.

Instagram: @caiti_mcgowan

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page