top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCalm Down Magazine

"ebb and flow," Poetry by Holly Berry

gentle yellow glows behind my closed eyelids

as i turn my head to the warmth of the sun that

sits between the clouds in the watercolour sky. 

sunbeams lay across my body like a welcoming

embrace as i let myself sink a little deeper into 

the sand beneath me.

i ground myself by brushing my hand across the

grains, focusing on the feel of it running between

my fingers and inhaling the ever-present sea salt.

the breeze combs itself through my hair like a 

playful ruffle, and, unexpectedly, it brings a soft

smile to my face.

 

the ocean is quiet, like it understands that i have

come here to collect my thoughts, calmly lapping

against the shore as a reminder that it is there and 

i am not alone. i let the familiarity of the waves soothe 

me, and the patient ebb and flow is the regularity i 

was in search of.

nature has always been my sanctuary- the bark of 

an ancient tree beneath my fingertips, the scent

of rain before the sky opens up to release it, the 

steady skim of a flat rock against water when the 

angle is just right. it is the simplest thing in world:

finding yourself here.


Holly Berry, 19. England, UK.

Instagram: @hollyberry_x

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page