top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCalm Down Magazine

"The Simple Decadence Of Being Present," Poetry by  Lyn Patterson

The Simple Decadence Of Being Present


This poem is called “The Simple Decadence

of Being Present,” and it was written by mother

nature herself/


A butterfly landed on me while

writing and I paused to breathe, look around,

and take everything in/ All of the sudden there

were birds chirping, bees buzzing, flowers blooming/

and I realized that reality can be just as sweet as

my day dreams/ Especially, if I just learned to spend

as much time, with my head in the grass, as my head

in the clouds/ Maybe, one day, I’ll be content knowing

that/ wherever I am/ it is always up to me to find

the contentment.


Lyn Patterson. Washington, USA.

Instagram: @poetryntings 

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page